top of page


Alabama, constituent state of the United States of

America, admitted to the union in 1819 as the

22nd state.

Alabama is governed by a bicameral legislature

and a governor and cabinet. The legislature consists

of the Senate, with 35 members, and the House of

Representatives, with 105 members, who meet annually in regular sessions; members of both chambers are elected for four-year terms. Their constitution is a complex document dating from 1901, with hundreds of subsequent amendments. The chief administrative officers of the state, ranging from the governor to the state Board of Education, are also all elected for four-year terms. The state Supreme Court of nine elected members is the highest judicial body.

bottom of page